Back to All Events


  • Los Angeles City College - Clausen Hall 855 North Vermont Avenue Los Angeles, CA, 90029 United States (map)

On November 5, Los Angeles Composers Collective Synchromy and experimental piano duo HOCKET join forces, along with twelve or so of their best friends, to present a staged version of Frederic Rzewski's rarely performed Crusoe.

The concert also features premieres from Jason Barabba, Alexander Elliott Miller, and Nick Norton, and music by Marc Evans and Mayke Nas.


Alexander Elliott Miller: Clock Smasher
Marc Evans: One Wandering Night
Nick Norton: Mirror Smasher
Jason Barabba: The Distance of the Moon
Mayke Nas: Digit #2
Frederic Rzewski: Crusoe

Performed by:

HOCKET - Sarah Gibson and Thomas Kotcheff, pianos, toy pianos, and melodicas

Justine Aronson, soprano
Benjamin Phelps, percussion
Marc Evans, melodica and toy piano
Alexander Elliot Miller, guitar
Nick Norton, guitar and melodica
Isaac Schankler, accordion
Adrianne Pope, violin
Linnea Powell, viola
Federico Llach, double bass

Stage direction by Doug Oliphant

Earlier Event: October 28
Sandbox Percussion
Later Event: January 28
Oh My Ears Marathon in Mesa, AZ